A Day in the Life

Hey guys!  Last week I shared how being a stay-at-home mom has not been as easy as I thought it would be.  I have been a stay-at-home mom for a little over a year now, and one thing that I’ve learned is that it really helps to have a schedule and to stick with it.  It gives me and the girls some order to our day.  For me, it helps to know that I will have designated times to study, clean up, etc. It also helps me not get so overwhelmed (cause let’s be real… it still gets overwhelming) and this way when I’m spending time with my girls I can give them my undivided attention without worrying about my to-do list.  For the girls, it gives them structure and helps them know what to expect for their day so hopefully there will be less meltdowns.  So, as promised, I’m going to now share what a typical day looks like for us.  It ain’t perfect, and I try to find a balance between sticking with the schedule and going with the flow.  After a lot of trial and error, I think I’ve finally found a schedule that works for us.  Here it is:

5:00 am: Maia normally wakes up around this time to breastfeed.  If I’m being really good or if I’m  behind on studying, I will stay up after I nurse her and study.  I’ve found that the days I can get myself to do this are always the BEST days. 

7:15ish am: The girls are both up now.  They do this strange thing where they always wake up at the same time.  Ava goes potty.  I get the girls’ breakfast ready, which is normally just cereal. Then I make myself coffee or tea and stare at my phone until I wake up.

7:30/8:00 am: This time depends on whenever the girls woke up.  Ava can take a long time to eat breakfast.  Anyway, I get the girls dressed for the day.  Then I let them play in the living room while I eat my breakfast and clean the house.

9:00 am: I get dressed and we head out for a walk.  Depending on how Maia is feeling she’s either walking or I wear her.

10:00 am: Back from our walk.  Ava goes potty while I nurse Maia.  Maia goes down for her morning nap and Ava and I have a snack.

10:10ish am: Ava colors until she’s over it.  Then we do some preschool activities: reading, flashcards, etc. until she’s over that.  Then I let her watch something educational on tv until Maia wakes up while I study.

11:45 am: Maia is probably up by now.  Lunch time!

12:15 pm: If I have the energy, we go outside to play.  Otherwise, I let the girls play together inside. 

1:30 pm: Nap time.  Ava doesn’t always need a nap but if she doesn’t I try to encourage her to take this time to play in her room and have quiet time.  I’ve learned that she does a lot better when she gets her rest, plus it helps me study.  Daddy is also home now so yay!

3:00 pm: Potty/diaper change. Snack time. Ideally, we head to the gym for an hour or so.  I workout or study depending on whichever I feel that I need to do most.

4:30 pm: Home from the gym.  I get ready for class.

5:00 pm: I make dinner.  The girls are normally playing around the house with Daddy at this point.

5:50 pm: I leave for school at this time every day except Wednesday.  From here, Daddy handles dinner, bath and bed for the girls.  They are normally in bed between 7:00-8:00 pm. Then I get home around 9:45 pm or so.

So that’s how our days typically go! I hope this gave you guys some insight into our daily lives.  Next week, I will be sharing how I came up with a schedule that works for us.  Hopefully, it well help anyone struggling with balance in their life like I have.

Have a good week!

Mahliya